Bronx

La Jolla

Bronx
1½ ozs. gin
½ oz. orange juice
¼ oz. dry vermouth
¼ oz. sweet vermouth
Shake well with ice. Strain into prechilled cocktail glass. […] One of the few inventions of the Prohibition era really worth retaining when made with fine gin rather than the notorious bathtub variety.

For this recipe I used G’Vine Nouiason gin, a Seville orange, Noilly Prat, and Cinzano Rosso.

Interesting drink. It has a distinct peppery note to it that I find appealing (which I think is coming from the G’Vine, a side to that gin that’s never really stood out to me before), and the balance drifts a bit to the sour side but not unpleasantly so. This recipe is a bit gin-heavy; the gin makes up 60% of the ingredients, whereas most recipes I’ve seen for the Bronx have the gin making up a half or less of the drink, and then various proportions of the vermouths and OJ make up the remainder. After flipping through it, I’m guessing this spirit-heavy balance will become a trend with the PH&BB. This is a drink I plan on making again with as many different gins, vermouths, and oranges as I can, but I won’t be using the Playboy proportions.

The Bronx has been around in some form or another since at least the first decade of the 1900s, so the write-up calling it a Prohibition era invention is a bit of a stretch.

This post is part of my project to make, and where possible improve upon, all the cocktails in “Playboy’s Host and Bar Book” from 1971.

Leave a Reply

